LD12 Republicans Endorse School Board Candidates

At the October 2014 monthly meeting of the LD12 Republican Precinct Committeemen, a straw poll was conducted for school board candidates for Gilbert Public Schools and Higley Unified School District.  The results of the straw poll were:

Gilbert Public Schools
Ron Bellus   37
Dawn Brimhall  32
Reed Carr   6
Jill Humpherys   3
Charles Santa Cruz  3

Higley Unified School District
Rebecca Jarman       31
Michelle Anderson  29
Greg Wojtovich          4
Venessa Whitener      3

After the results were announced, a motion was made from the floor to endorse the winners.  It was seconded and approved by voice vote of the Precinct Committeemen in attendance.  LD12 proudly endorses Ron Bellus and Dawn Brimhall for Governing Board of the Gilbert Public School Distrist.  

LD12 proudly endorses Rebecca Jarman and Michelle Anderson for governing Board of the Higley Unified School District.

Prior to this straw poll, LD12 hosted a Candidate Forum at their September meeting for candidates for Gilbert and Higley governing boards. At this forum the Precinct Committeemen were able to ask questions of all the candidates.  The forum was recorded and is available on the LD12 website.  Click HERE.  At the August district meeting the Republican National Platform on education was presented to the Precinct Committeemen

LD12 is endorsing these candidates for their stances on issues of importance to the representatives of the Republican Party. They are against “Common Core” (aka Arizona’s College and Career Ready Standards) and instead favor local control of rigorous educational standards, testing, and curriculum choices. They support funding to the classrooms as a first priority, along with increased transparency on budgets, spending, and taxes.  Educational choice for all students is another priority for these candidates. They are committed to calm and respectful interactions with all stake holders in the community.

Also endorsed was James Candland a candidate for EVIT Governing Board, District 7 (East Valley Institute of Technology).

Please join LD12 in voting for these candidates on November 4, 2014.

Contact:  LD12 Republican Chairman Mickie Niland at Chairman@azld12.com.

See Also:

Susan Hicks Report:  Gilbert School Board Candidate Update 8/30/2014

The Higley School Board Election, by Denine Driggs

Please vote for James Candland for EVIT Board